Here is a list of commonly used words for TextOut Users.
A Program is a text message campaign within your Workspace, organized into a program group and division group. Your texting will occur exclusively within Programs.
A closed program is a program that is no longer available to request new texts or send new texts in. Closed programs can still show under 'active programs' and can be closed and open automatically at a set time.
Initial Outbound (IOB):
The Initial Outbound message is the first text message you'll send to contacts – the people you're texting!
Recommended Replies are scripted replies created to help you have high-quality conversations with the people you're texting! You can access your organization's Recommended Replies on the right panel of your TextOut screen. You can search the Recommended Replies available to you within the program you're texting in, and can adjust the body of the Recommended Reply as necessary.
For more, see How to Reply to a Conversation Using Recommended Replies or watch our video on how to start texting.
Opt-Out / Wrong Number / Both:
Opt-Out, Wrong Number, and Both are used to provide data on whether or not the person you're texting matches the name on record and whether or not they wish to receive text messages and engage in conversation with you and your organization.
- Opt-Out: Sometimes a contact will be automatically opted out or removed from the contact list by using certain words such as STOP or REMOVE. If the contact responds with one of those words, an Automatic Opt-Out is triggered; you won't even see the contact's response, and the contact won't receive any further messages you attempt to send.
In other cases, you'll need to manually Opt-Out that contact from the contact list. In order to manually opt-out a voter from the contact list, simply use a recommended reply with the script type titled ‘Opt-Out’.
- Wrong Number: Another script type is 'Wrong Number.' A contact may indicate to you that you've reached the wrong person or number, so you'll want to send a "Wrong Number" recommended reply that will record that contact as a wrong number.
'Wrong Number' will appear within the conversation on the user screen and will not be visible to the contact.
For more, see: How Do I Mark a Contact a Wrong Number?
A completed program is when all texts have been sent. If you are unsure whether a program is complete, you can take a look at the ‘All Programs’ page to see how many programs your organization’s Workspace has open and the program completion status next to the name of each program. Below is a screenshot displaying programs that are complete and incomplete.
The Program Completion column shows how far along a program is in sending all the texts loaded within it. A campaign with a green bar indicates that all texts in that program have been sent, or is 100% complete. A yellow bar with less than 100% showing indicates that the program is not yet finished.
You can also locate this information from within a program on the individual program page under "Program Completion & Leaderboard."
"Total You've Sent":
'Total You've Sent' indicates the total number of conversations you have initiated for the individual program (i.e., initial outbound texts sent).
Replies Ready to Send:
'Ready' tells you how many new texts you have right now to send, either as initial outbounds to kick off a conversation or replies to people you already texted that need follow-up!
You'll have an Inbox for each program you're texting in, and it will contain three types of messages: 'Ready,' 'Flagged,' and 'Complete.'
- 'Ready' messages are ready for you to reply to!
- 'Flagged' contains messages that you've flagged, generally because you need more information or support to continue the conversation. You can flag a conversation to place it aside for easy finding at a later time by clicking on the 'Flag' button.
- 'Complete' contains conversations you've marked as complete – this is for conversations that have come to a natural end, and don't need a reply from you. Just can click the 'Complete' button to close out the conversation.
For more on getting to know your inbox see these articles: Getting Started: Navigating your Inbox and How to Complete, Flag, and Reassign your Conversations
Reassigns and Reassigning a Conversation
Reassigning a conversation sends the conversation to the program administrator to be assigned to another texter. Please follow your organization's guidelines on reassigning conversations before doing so. When directed to reassign a text, you cannot choose who the text is reassigned to and you will not know who receives it once it's been reassigned by the program administrator.
Occasionally, you may notice Ready texts in your inbox which say 'Automatically Reassigned.' This text now belongs to you! Review the entire conversation and respond in a careful way that provides a seamless transition for the contact.
IMPORTANT: Check out our article on How to Reassign Conversations and What to do If You've Received Reassigned Messages.
The Workspace Directory is the landing page for TextOut. When you log into TextOut the first screen you will land on is the Workspace Directory. You will see all public groups that are currently texting with TextOut. Workspaces that you have joined will have a blue 'Enter Workspace' button and Workspaces that you have not joined but are open for new texters will have a green 'Join' button.
Each program has "Quiet Hours" – designated hours at night when texts cannot be sent. During this time, contacts will be able to write to you, but you will not be able to respond. These hours are set by your Workspace Administrator.
The 'READ ME!' section lists helpful information about the Program you're texting in.
Once you have selected a program from the All Programs screen, you will be directed to the individual program screen from the program you selected. The "READ ME!" section can be found on the left side. You can also access the same information about the Program by selecting the 'i' button in the top right corner of the toolbar either from the Program information screen or your Inbox.
If there are no resources listed in the Read Me or 'i' button then your texting coordinator has not uploaded any information.
There are two types of data items texters can use: Scripted Data Items and Free-form Data Items.
TextOut allows you to apply data items to your scripted replies as needed. Data will automatically be stored when you use certain Recommended Replies due to the Data Badges attached to various Recommended Replies in the script.
Note: Data tags can only be adjusted by your Workspace Administrator, so please choose carefully! If you use a wrong one, let your Program manager know - they may want to make a correction.
Some Workspaces will opt to give texters feedback on their texts. This may consist of tips and advice on improving your texting, or instructions on following the Workspace's protocols.
Accessing your Feedback is important for understanding your progress as a Texter and for learning new tips and tricks to help you have great conversations on TextOut! You can access your Feedback by looking to the right side of the 'All Programs' screen in the Workspace you are texting in.
Want to become an expert texter? Check out the TextOut FAQ,
TextOut Texting Guide and watch these videos!